Fluffy Oatmeal

I have posted this recipe before, but since it was a while ago I thought I might as well do it again because it’s such a good one! I eat oatmeal for breakfast almost every day and I like to eat a lot, so just 1 dl oats mixed with water is never enough for me. Therefore, I have some tips on how to make the volume larger and at the same time add some good nutrients and extra protein!

My best tips is just to add 1/2-1 shredded zucchini (squeeze out the water first) to the pot after the oats started to boil. Stir and let boil until it’s as creamy as you’d like it.

My second tips is to add 1-2 tablespoons chia seeds to your oats to make it swell up a little. Let it stand (chia seeds, oat and water) for a few minutes before you turn the heat on.

My third tips is to add some psyllium husk at the end when the oatmeal is almost done, it gives it some more volume.

Finally, whisk 1/2-1 dl egg whites until hard and stir carefully down in the oatmeal when it’s done for some real volume and fluffy feeling!

I often also add 1 scoop of protein powder to add even more protein add to add some flavor. And afterwards of course add some delicious toppings like berries, nuts, nutbutters, syrups, and so on!

Here is the recipe for the Fluffy Oatmeal I made this morning:

  • 1 dl gluten free oats
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1/2 tablespoon psyllium husk
  • 2.5 dl water
  • 1/2 shredded zucchini
  • 1 dl egg whites

-> I started by mixing together oats, chia seeds, and water in a pot and let it stand for 2-3 minutes. Then I turned the heat on and when it started to boil slowly I added the zucchini and psyllium husk. Then I whisked the egg whites hard and when I felt like the oatmeal was creamy enough I took it off the heat and carefully stirred down the fluffy egg whites in the pot. Then I also added some peanutbutter and stirred before pouring it over to a big bowl. Added my favorite toppings, peanut butter, raspberries, mulberries, and kiwi.

  

Leave a Reply

