Black Rice Oatmeal

Last night I prepared this mornings breakfast and I decided to try something new again! I got the idea when I saw a post on Facebook from “The Fodmap Friendly Vegan”. I changed the recipe a little but I would never have thought about to use black rice as the foundation for the oatmeal without seeing her recipe. It ended up really good, but next time I will add a little more milk I think to make it more creamy. On the side I had one of my carrots + cauliflower wraps I baked yesterday and a green kiwi. Perfect start of the day!

Black Rice Oatmeal (1 portion)

  • 1 dl black rice
  • 2.5 dl almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon raw honey
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons raw cacao
  • 1/2 zucchini, shredded

-> Measure up the rice and almond milk in a pot. Add the cinnamon and bring to boil. Then turn the heat down to low and let boil with a lid for 40 minutes. Stir now and then so that it doesn’t burn. If it gets to dry towards the end, add more milk. Then take the rice off the stove and add the honey and cacao powder. Stir well and put in the fridge over night (or you can eat it right away). 

The next morning, take it out and add the shredded zucchini and some more milk if needed. I heated it up in the microwave for 2 minutes and then added my toppings of crunchy peanut-butter, buffbake “snickerdoodle” nut-butter, blueberries, mulberries, and gojiberries. YUM 😀 

   
This breakfast is 100% gluten free, dairy free, & free from added sugar! 

Leave a Reply

